Our network

When does the school year begin? | Schools

Title (Max 100 Characters)

When does the school year begin?
When does the school year begin?

ATLANTA -- Summer break is coming to a close for many Atlanta-area students.

In fact, three Atlanta elementary schools -- Boyd, Centennial and Hutchinson -- are already back in session; the year-round schools began the 2012-13 calendar on July 10.

The remainder of metro Atlanta's school districts will open their doors a little later.

RELATED | School tax savings will come late for some parents

The first day of school for the rest of Atlanta Public Schools is Monday, Aug. 6

Other start dates include:

Monday, July 30
Rockdale County

Wednesday, Aug. 1
Cherokee County
Decatur City
Floyd County
Paulding County

Friday, Aug. 3
Buford City
Newton County

Monday, Aug. 6
Coweta County
Douglas County
Gwinnett County
Henry County

Wednesday, Aug. 8
Clarke County

Thursday, Aug. 9
Forsyth County
Marietta City

Friday, Aug. 10
Bartow County
Hall County

Monday, Aug. 13
Barrow County
Carroll County
Clayton County
Cobb County
DeKalb County
Fayette County
Fulton County
Griffin-Spalding County